Chris Skipper – Composer / Sound designer

Chris

Our friend Chris Skipper is back at Digipost, so we asked him some random questions to catch up.

  1. A secret talent people may not know you have?

I don’t think many people know that I’m quite a qualified drummer, like rock drums. I’ve actually got a qualification in playing drums but not many people would know because I haven’t had the opportunity to play drums in Vietnam.

Also I make a really good spaghetti carbonara. I’m a good chef…that’s about it.

2. Do you stick to your genre or do you have a guilty pleasure when it comes to music?

My guilty pleasure is 80s rock, like the Clash and Queen. And kind of more synth-pop stuff, so I like stuff like Craftwork, Nine-inch nails, all that synthy-stuff. I don’t have a specific genre when being a film composer but when it comes to listening to music, I still have some guilty pleasures…classical music as well. I love classical music.

3. Are you an adventurous or conservative eater?

I am a very adventurous eater. But I’m allergic to seafood. So that’s kind of keeps my options limited when it comes to being in a place like Vietnam. However, living in the Philippines now, I have been introduced to a whole bunch of new foods and so, yea, I eat anything…as long as it doesn’t have seafood in it. There are some foods that I stick to, like Italian food. In Vietnam, I like Bun Bo Hue, Pho and Chao long.

4. What’s your favorite project that you’ve ever worked on?

One of the most fun and challenging projects that I worked on was “Honda gift for dreams.” One of my first composition projects when I moved to Vietnam. That was really challenging.

 

And another one would be for Cambodia beer in 2015. It’s the TVC called “Bottle Band.” Basically I had to write all the music using the sounds from the beer bottle. That was really fun and challenging.

 

Leave a Reply

